The Edge of the Edge

by Sophia Harvey

While running away from her step father, a little girl finds the edge of the world and the frog who fishes off of it.

This was an experiment in animation done for a photo class. The visuals are paired with an audio play that I wrote for a sound design class.

The audio won the 2012 Tony Hawkins Award for best Audio Drama

The goal for this project was not a complete claymation. I only wanted the puppets to be animated at some points. Luckily, I had a friend experienced in animation to help me at the points where I wanted believable motion.

It started with a trip to Peal River. I had researched the process a little online but other than that had very little knowledge of the medium outside of Wallace and Gromitt. Here are some photographs from the shoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

